Home / Pressroom / Press Releases

Press Releases

Thornberry Named Leader of New Cybersecurity Task Force

f t # e
Washington, June 24, 2011 | comments

House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) and Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-VA) today announced the formation of a new Cybersecurity Task Force to be led by Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-TX). The group will be charged with examining the largest and most complex issues and making recommendations on cybersecurity authorities, information-sharing and public-private partnerships, critical infrastructure, and domestic legal frameworks, as well as evaluating the Administration’s proposal.  The task force will report back to GOP leaders in October.

“American jobs and national security depend upon our nation’s ability to innovate and dominate information technology fields,” said Speaker Boehner. “I’m pleased Congressman Thornberry will be heading up this important effort to evaluate what the House can do to help secure America’s technology infrastructures.”

“The United States is and will continue to be the global leader in technology and innovation,” Leader Cantor said.  “Strengthening our networks’ security is fundamental to protecting our national and financial security, promoting economic growth, and creating jobs. Representative Thornberry will be a strong leader of this important task force.”

“We’re reminded daily about the risk to our economic and national security from cyber attacks,” said Rep. Thornberry.  “Cybersecurity needs to be a priority, and this Task Force will lay the foundation to make it one in the House.  I am eager to help lead such an important effort.”

NOTE: The task force represents a broad cross-section of the House Republican Conference and the committees of jurisdiction on the issue of cyber security. In addition to Rep. Thornberry, Members serving in the group include Reps. Robert Aderholt (R-AL), Jason Chaffetz (R-UT), Mike Coffman (R-CO), Bob Goodlatte (R-VA), Rob Hurt (R-VA), Bob Latta (R-OH), Dan Lungren (R-CA), Mike McCaul (R-TX), Tim Murphy (R-PA), Steve Stivers (R-OH), and Lee Terry (R-NE).


f t # e